Love / The Cult / album / 1985

  1. Nirvana
  2. Big Neon Glitter
  3. Love
  4. Brother Wolf; Sister Moon
  5. Rain
  6. The Phoenix
  7. Hollow Man
  8. Revolution
  9. She Sells Sanctuary
  10. Black Angel

Released: 18th October 1985
Recorded: July – Aug 1985 at Jacobs Studios, Farnham, England and Olympic Studios, London, England.
Producer: Steve Brown
Label: Beggars Banquet, Sire

“The Phoenix intro in general I’m really happy with, it’s like controlled chaos. When we recorded the album, I remember that there were so many tracks of guitar, wah wah and stuff going on, that Steve Brown the producer just said ‘Billy, you do it’ and I had to drive all the faders on the mixing desk, and mix the guitars. I just wanted this massive cacophony and we were really excited about the song. Ian was buzzing on it. We realized we’d created something really special with The Phoenix, a song that was different to what a lot of people were doing. It had elements of other stuff but we knew we were onto something really unique and that’s what went down on that song… all energy and attitude. Its basically four chords, really simple but with so many layers and textures. It’s all about emotion and feeling in that song, the lyrics, the longing. The lyrics go in harmony with the music, it’s a great example of me and Ian working at our best, the symbiotic nature of me writing some music that Ian was inspired by and ran away and wrote some lyrics really quickly. It encapsulated everything and made it great.”
Billy Duffy – December 2012